A Little “Sunshine” On The Charts

Lots of excitement in Diana-land this week — and I’ve missed it all being out of the country and totally unplugged!

That said, Ms. Ross proved herself the perfect person to honor the Queen at the Platinum Jubilee celebration with a crowd-pleasing set, reminding fans around the world that there is — and only ever will be — ONE Diana Ross. An enormous global audience adored the diva as she delivered vocally solid renditions of “Chain Reaction,” “Thank You,” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.” In all, a triumph for Ms. Ross.

Meanwhile, “Turn Up The Sunshine” has added to the singer’s tally of Adult Contemporary hits, peaking thus far at #22 and becoming her 30th entry on that particular chart. Keep streaming!

And…in the words of Mary Wilson…”the devil made her do it!” Ms. Ross is heading back to Vegas this fall — details here: https://www.wynnlasvegas.com/entertainment/upcoming-shows/diana-ross

Finally, DIANA ROSS PROJECT friend DavidH says Ms. Ross is working on a symphony album with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra while in the United Kingdom — I haven’t heard anything else about this (again, I’ve been FAR outside the loop, on vacation!), but I’m happy to hear she’s possibly working on yet another new project!

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Little “Sunshine” On The Charts

  1. Lawrence Hughes Stern says:

    Such exciting news – all of this!! A real ROSS-renaissance!! Everyone STREAM TURN UP THE SUNSHINE over and over – let’s take this to the top: https://open.spotify.com/track/5FH5U5zlicxKUXK6DruWKM?si=018aa2f2e92c4dd0

  2. Richard says:

    Did anyone else here watch her at the Jubilee Concert? It was so good to see her…. whether or not we actually heard her sing… I’m not sure!

  3. Vicky Lewis says:

    FABULOUS!!! I am streaming the song and her CD on Youtube, Spotify, and iTunes

  4. William Sturman says:

    I see I’m Still Waiting, Chain Reaction, If We Hold on Together and If the World Just Danced are on her UK set list. Surprisingly, she performed Best Years of My Life and not Thank You as the finale. I’m going to see her at the O2 Arena in London on June 24 and June 25. I’m beyond excited to hear I’m Still Waiting live for the 1st time!

    • Mark Bradbury says:

      She knows Best Years, and she can’t seem to follow the music/remember the lyrics of Thank You. I’m glad she took that out of her set.

      • William Sturman says:

        Ha! Yes, her rendition of Thank You at the Jubilee concert was a little choppy – that’s why she needs to sing it more to perfect it 🙂

  5. Mic says:

    Her rendition of Thank You at the Jubilee was on point…and I’m sure she didnt remove it from her set list permanently and definite not because she can’t remember the lyrics…
    I swear some of her fans are hella harsh…it feels like they are always mad at her because she doesnt live up to their expectations…like on YouTube some of the comments from her fans are just….wow

    • William Sturman says:

      Well I personally love Thank You and hope she sings it! I would also like to hear When You Tell Me that You Love Me – a huge hit for her in the UK twice! Originally in 1991 and then again with Westlife in 2001.

      • Bob D says:

        Did a lovely performance of When You tell me that you love me in her encore in BIrmingham tonight!

  6. Mark Bradbury says:

    It’s now up to #1 on the BBC 2 Airplay chart. Second #1 on that chart in less than a year.

  7. Bob D says:

    Doing fan requests at the end of the shows. For example Home and a wonderful It’s my turn.. Getting brilliant reviews . Going down a storm with the audiences..Of course she has the greatest back catalogue in the business. Time to read all Paul’s fantastic reviews again!

    • William Sturman says:

      Those English crowds are unbelievable – did you see the whole arena singing I’m Still Waiting – I got chills. Btw, Thank You (the single) has become one of my all time favorites – how did that happen a year later?!

      • Clarence High says:

        What about that rendition of “If We Hold On Together?” I’m in awe and jealous of the UK audiences 🙂 Her performances seem to be getting stronger as the tour progresses.

  8. William Sturman says:

    I went to both shows at the O2 Arena in London. Unfortunately, she was having throat issues both nights so her voice wasn’t its best. And Mark Bradbury was right – she doesn’t know the words to the new songs – she readily admits it though – her exact quote was “If I mess up a little bit, trust that my heart is there”. That being said, the outpouring of love from her to the crowd and vice versa was beyond spectacular. The crowds were 20,000 plus each night and their sing alongs to I’m Still Waiting and If We Hold On Together gave me chills. It felt like her glory days back in the early 80s when she routinely sold out arenas of this size in the States and everyone knew every word to each of the songs. Everyone on this site knows she is a legend and an icon – we’re so lucky that she is still loving, living and giving ❤️❤️❤️

  9. David h says:

    I’ve been updated.
    While on tour in UK ,Ms Ross got a throat infection.
    The recording session for the Symphony album has been rescheduled for later, or they may use her original vocals.
    Plan was to have this out by Christmas but , that has changed.most likely 2023.

  10. William Sturman says:

    Thank You received a Grammy nomination for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album!!

Leave a comment