The “Project” Turns 5!

Happy New Year!

Along with being the first day of 2017, today also marks the 5th anniversary of The Diana Ross Project.  I started writing track-by-track reviews of every Diana Ross album back in January of 2012 simply because it’s the kind of information I couldn’t find on the Internet. Everybody seemed to have an opinion about the singer’s voice, career, and persona, but very few had actually critically evaluated the singer’s work in a way that seemed meaningful or thorough.

So I started writing…with no idea that anybody would actually read the posts or comment on them.  I certainly didn’t expect to hear from fans in countries I’d never even heard of.  And I definitely didn’t expect to hear from people who’d actually worked with Miss Ross during her career.  All of it has been a sincere surprise, and I’m so grateful that this has become a little corner of the Internet where fans can have a respectful discussion about the work and career of Diana Ross.  Thank you for coming along for the ride.

Hopefully 2017 will bring new music for me to write about and for all of us to discuss — it sounds like we’ll be getting an Expanded Edition of The Supremes A’ Go-Go very soon, with a stellar alternate mix of Diana’s solo “These Boots Are Made For Walkin'” included.  And, of course, we can all wish for something new from Miss Ross herself; if her recent shows with the NSO Pops at The Kennedy Center are any indication, her voice is in superb shape.  Watching clips of her performing songs like “It’s My Turn,” “If We Hold On Together,” and “The Best Years Of My Life” again was the perfect soothing end to a tumultuous 2016.

And, of course, if somehow, someday Miss Diana Ross gets any word about this website, I hope she knows how important she’s been in the lives of its writer and its readers.  Here’s to five more “best years” ahead!

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The “Project” Turns 5!

  1. Alexis Bryce says:

    Paul, Congratulations on five terrific years and thank you for your arduous work in reviewing the extraordinary body of work by the supremely divine Diana Ross! Her voice cast a spell on me as a small child in 1964 and I’ve been entranced by her ever since (How lucky I am to have been a part of her journey from the very beginning) . Keep up the good work and have a great 2017!

  2. David h says:

    Thank you for renewing our faith in music and helping me to rediscover Diana Ross.

  3. Pete Mowbray says:

    Hi Paul Pete Mowbray from U.K. Just wanted to thank you for all your hard work with this project. You make a lot of fans very happy with your effort and dedication. Congratulations for The “Project” turning 5

    All the best

    Pete

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Lee G says:

    Happy fifth anniversary! I wrote some track by track reviews in 1982…but scrapped them when I read your reviews…so much better! I always learn surprising things from you!…Thanks very much for your project!

  5. Hello Paul – Congrats & thank you for the dedication and hard work these past 5 years. Your ‘Project’ has been a refreshingly honest & respectful source of Rossmania. Am also hoping she releases new material very soon. We can all use the love now.

  6. david h says:

    forgot to say happy 5th anniversary.
    I know by now that you are aware of the 5 new tracks found on the Motown 1966 unreleased, ia m expecting a review in the meantime until we all get Go Go.

  7. benjaminblue says:

    Congratulations! Thank you! Your work has filled an important gap; a critical track-by-track analysis was long overdue. You have reaffirmed many positive reactions those familiar with Miss Ross have felt through the years, and you have acquainted those who didn’t experience the releases in real-time what a phenomenon Miss Ross was — and is!

  8. I now realise how there was so much content when I first found this site. I think I’ve said before I was laid up after an opporation during the latter part of 2012 and honestly thought you must have been writing for at least a year prior as I had so much to read and rediscover with each album entry…it still remains a delight every time there’s a new post. Congrats Paul!!

  9. Paul, I posted the following comment under your words about the impact of LSTBs before getting to this post. My comments seem to fit here more appropriately, which is why I copied and pasted the same comment again here. Thanks for it all, and trust that your words have been shared with far more readers than you might think. I think you’ld actually be pleasantly surprised if you knew just how many and who they are. Unfortunately, it would be improper and possibly harmful to my career out here in “La La Land,” were I to fully indulge, but believe me when I tell you, your words have been read in more than a few significant circles. I hate when people are cryptic, and I don’t mean to be such, in this instance, as I just wanted to share with you the best I am able. Hopefully one day in the future I will be able to fully expound on what I’m trying to say here. In the meantime, take pride in your Project with the knowledge that your reaching an audience that is broader in scope than you may if thought. All the best to you…

    Copied Post:

    Beautifully written Paul. So glad to see your “project” is getting more and exposure and recognition. Well deserved!! Your voice speaks for so many of us and perfectly expresses what we all have been saying to ourselves (and anyone else who would listen to us) for decades.

    It has been a while since I have had the time to properly check in to the Diana Ross Project, that I feel in order to continue to honestly participate in your future posts, the only proper thing for me to do is start, again, from the beginning. Yes, that’s it… I must begin again… To bring me up to speed! Right? You’re insisting I should? Well, I wouldn’t want to disappoint you! A daunting task, but if I must, then that’s what I’ll do… I’ll keep you posted on my progress, and don’t feel bad about suggesting I re-examine every single post, starting with your very first one! If that’s what I have to do to continue to actively participate in this blog, then that’s just what I’ll have to do. After all, I wouldn’t want to …
    Rick Santamonica

    • Paul says:

      Rick — thank you so much and I don’t even know what to say. I’m honored that people read what I write at all — when I first started this project, I merely hoped a few fans would find enjoyment from it. I hope it has inspired people to continue to find enjoyment from the work of Miss Ross, and I hope she knows how many of us appreciate her gifts.

Leave a Reply

