Wait Patiently For Love…

Here’s another beautiful full-page ad, this time from the October 30, 1971 issue of Billboard Magazine.  “I’m Still Waiting” had become a surprise hit in the UK, climbing to #1 on the charts there when DJ Tony Blackburn began playing the song and got the label to issue it as a single.  Motown promptly followed suit in the States, releasing it as a follow up to “Surrender” and promoting it with this advertisement; it must have seemed like a slam-dunk, and I imagine Motown prepared itself for a major smash hit.

Unfortunately, “I’m Still Waiting” ended up peaking at a disappointing #63 on the Billboard Hot 100, the lowest-charting single thus far in her solo career.  It’s hard to understand why; it’s a great recording featuring a striking vocal performance by Miss Ross, who probably deserved a Grammy nomination for it.  Of course, the singer would rebound quickly; her next big project was the Oscar-nominated film Lady Sings The Blues and its #1 soundtrack album.

im-still-waiting-ad

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wait Patiently For Love…

  1. david h says:

    Motown usa waited way to long to release this as a single… and some of these songs were not promoted properly, BG kept Diana off tv and it cost her in the sales dept. this should have been a top ten for her

  2. peter says:

    ^ I agree – this was destined for a great smash here – it has one of Diana’s greatest deliveries.

  3. Alexis Bryce says:

    “I’m Still Waiting” is, perhaps, the biggest disappointment (chart wise) of Diana’s solo recordings. Following the smash “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” from the year before, there is absolutely no reason why this magnificent recording did not reach number one on the US charts. The same holds true for “When You Tell Me That You Love Me.”

  4. I never understood why this wasn’t a huge hit – guess it wasn’t promoted properly? So it seems Motown dropped the ball in the 1970s too – in addition to the 1990s for her second act there!

  5. LeeG says:

    I bought this 45 in October 71 when it came out…and was disappointed. Loved it on the album version, but the single version was edited down for radio and destroyed the momentum of the record, wrecking the emotional impact. But still a great record as the ALBUM version!

  6. Luis Boki says:

    “I’m Still. waiting” was a favorite album track when I bought “Everything is Everything”. I was caught completely caught off guard when I saw “Everything is Everything” in KMart. My mother bought the album for me. But I had no idea that album was forthcoming. I was still enjoying her debut as I became more and more familiar with Side 2. I understood why it became such a smash in the U.K. It was Diana at her most pop-flavored while her debut was a lot more soulful, especially Side 2. It took the Expanded version for me to finally understand this album. Honestly, when I saw this album in KMart, of all places, I initially thought it was a compilation of unreleased tracks. The front cover art somehow seemed connected to the back cover art of her debut album, which reinforced my initial belief that it was an album of unreleased material, trying to capitalize on the success of her gorgeous debut.
    The world seemed a lot bigger the so it hit in Europe was an instant guarantee of success in the states. Then, seemingly out of nowhere came “Surrender”.
    It remains a mystery why pure pop stations didn’t give “I’m Still Waiting” a chance. This could not be a multi-format record because it would have been unfair to expect R&B radio to be a significant part of the mix. Diana had two solid pop hits in “Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hands)” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”. This did not seem that much of a risk. With Karen Carpenter, Helen Reddy and Olivia Newton John getting lots of pop play, to me it seemed like white America couldn’t deal with Diana being just as good, if not better, at pop music than her contemporaries. How dare she.

Leave a Reply

