NEWS: “Diana Ross” Returns To Vinyl

Back in 1976, Motown declared July “Diana Ross Month” — celebrating the recent success of her smash LP Diana Ross and the release of the singer’s latest single, “One Love In My Lifetime.”  Now, a full forty years later, that classic album is returning to store shelves — and as with its original release, it’s on vinyl.

DR1976

Check out this article from Classic Motown detailing the 40th anniversary reissue of Diana Ross this month.  According to the news release, the vinyl reissue won’t include any bonus tracks or additional materials, just the original album lineup (which featured the #1 hits “Theme From Mahogany” and “Love Hangover,” along with the fan favorite “I Thought It Took A Little Time”).  Of course, a few years ago Hip-O Select released a deluxe expanded edition of Diana Ross on CD, which included several vault tracks and alternate mixes.

Although it’s not one of my personal favorites, I’m thrilled to hear Diana Ross will return to vinyl; dozens of classic albums are getting vinyl reissues and it’s time a Ross album entered the marketplace again.  The singer’s full-length albums continue to be overlooked by critics, who consider Miss Ross more of a “singles” artist.  And even if the LP’s material is a little bit uneven, the cover is easily one of Diana’s most stunning — won’t it be awesome to see that face staring out from the racks again?

The reissue will apparently be released July 15, and can be ordered here.  Hopefully we’ll see it in stores that are selling vinyl again, like Barnes & Noble and others.  And in the meantime, check out my original review of the album here!

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to NEWS: “Diana Ross” Returns To Vinyl

  1. Mark Fletcher says:

    I can remember the first time I saw that LP cover – my favourite images of a woman who has helped America re-define the notion of ‘beautiful ‘ ! Astounding pictures.

  2. peter says:

    Paul, Paul, Paul, Paul, Paul ……… this time you got it wrong. This is perhaps the most even of her solo albums as he was maturing and getting ready to spready her wings. It flows beautifully; I recently tried to listen to “Baby, It’s Me” and I had to take it off – it was awful!. Whomever chose “Smile” as the closing track was genius – I feel this album is one of her very best along with “diana ross”, “Surrender” and “diana” (I prefer the CHIC mix!). I only wish the original artwork just said plainly: DIANA ROSS beneath that gorgeous photo – without listing the songs. It cheapened the look! I’m wondering if the release is 180 gram vinyl – if it is – I will be compelled to buy!! XO Peter

    • Paul says:

      HOW DARE YOU DISAGREE WITH ME???????? 😉 Sorry, I just don’t hear it. There are some amazing highlights on DIANA ROSS (1976), namely the two #1 hits and “I Thought It Took A Little Time.” But I don’t think the rest of the album lives up to the promise of those singles, especially “Smile.” To my ears, it’s syrupy and overdone, and pales in comparison to her best work on similar types of material. Same thing with something like “You’re Good My Child” — a song that could have been great, but is hampered by a strangely weak vocal. For me, BABY IT’S ME has a cohesiveness and an overall quality that sets it apart from much of the rest of Diana’s discography. There is a real, identifiable “sound” to BABY IT’S ME, and Diana’s enjoyment of the material is obvious. My top 3 Diana solo albums are SURRENDER, BABY IT’S ME, and TAKE ME HIGHER — all three are classy, top-notch efforts.

      • Jon J says:

        I’d quite agree Paul – the 1976 album has stellar singles but a lot of filler (‘Smile’ and ‘Kiss Me Now’ – yuck!) surrounding them. I think it’s somewhat overrated due to it containing a #1 single and its iconic sleeve.

        Your Top 3 is a solid choice – I’d definitely include both Surrender and Baby It’s Me in mine, along with probably The Boss. Take Me Higher is definitely one of her best albums of the 1980s and 1990s though.

  3. Michael says:

    Peter, I kind of agree with you. I really do like this album, and I love Smile as the closing song. I thought It Took A Little Time is my favorite track on this set.
    However, I have to disagree with you on Baby It’s Me. It is probably my 2nd favorite Diana album, next to TMH, which was brilliant!

    • Paul says:

      Michael — my top 3 are SURRENDER, BABY IT’S ME, and TAKE ME HIGHER. All three are superb, cohesive works that feature some of Diana’s best vocals.

  4. david h says:

    this was my first DR album and one of my all time favs sans Kiss Me Now . kinda think theat song could have remained a B side but it’s ok and a fun song. could of been an out take from Last time I saw Him lp but I know that is not the case. I loved this album and played it to death.LOve It. think Today I Fell In Love should have been huge but I think Motown dropped the ball. loved how she vocally surfs these songs. could have used another disco song in place of KMN but still up there with Diana ,DR70 ,Take Me Higher and the Force.

  5. George says:

    This is really exciting! Its truly a wonderful album.
    Surprisingly though, I’m not that bothered about the two songs people most associate this album with (Theme From Mahogany and Love Hangover).. although the latter is brilliant.
    Personally, I think the best tracks from the album are “I Thought It Took A Little Time”, Ain’t Nothin’ But A Maybe”..and of course “After You”.

Leave a Reply

