Record Store Wednesdays: “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” Picture Sleeve

You Keep Me Hangin' On The Supremes picture sleeve

My dad was thumbing through the stacks at Atlantic Sounds Records in Daytona Beach this week and came across this beautiful Supremes picture sleeve from 1966.  “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” was released as Motown 1101 on October 12 of that year — and promptly rocketed to #1 on the Billboard Hot 100, where it held the top spot from November 13-26.

Note that the picture sleeve uses the same artwork as that featured on The Supremes A’ Go-Go, which had already been released and actually didn’t include the song.  “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” would find a place on the group’s next LP release (which is mentioned at the bottom of this picture sleeve).

For me, “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” is as good as a Supremes single ever got; it’s a dazzling work, featuring Diana Ross, Mary Wilson, Florence Ballard, Holland-Dozier-Holland, and The Funk Brothers in absolute peak form.  The song’s been covered many times over the years, by extremely talented artists, but nobody’s ever captured the heart-stopping urgency created by the original.  Oh — and the flipside (“Remove This Doubt”) is a gem.

Please click here to read my full review of “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” and its parent album, 1967’s  The Supremes Sing Holland-Dozier-Holland.

You Keep Me Hangin' On The Supremes single back cover

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Single and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Record Store Wednesdays: “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” Picture Sleeve

  1. Marcus says:

    I really love this record. My mom bought me “The Supremes Sing Holland Dozier Holland” for Christmas when I was 16, in 1986. She bought them from a classic records shop in Wilmington, NC. It was a great surprise because I’d been playing my only other 4 Diana Ross albums all summer and fall, over and over again-and she was TIRED of them. But she loved me enough to search and find this album and two others (Supremes A Go Go and An Evening With Diana Ross), knowing I’d be playing them non-stop for months. Great memories. I love this site, too. I’ve been reading all your reviews and I agree with most everyone. I’m far from finished, but I had to write you and let you know. Thanks!!

    • Paul says:

      Haha…I love that…I drove my parents crazy with a few Diana/Supremes albums, too…but they always went back and bought me more 🙂 Thanks for the nice words — glad you’re enjoying the reviews and look forward to your comments on future posts!

      • Marcus says:

        Thanks, Paul. This site is a wonderful read. I remember reading some where, one critic said that Diana Ross was proof that you can make something out of nothing and people would buy anything. Those kinds of comments enrage me. These people don’t listen to the voice and your site shows how wrong they
        all are. Cheers, cmp

  2. david h says:

    one of my favorite supremes singles of all time

Leave a Reply

