Reflections Of… (The End Of An Era)

Supremes Brewster Projects

Did you all see this?

The last remaining towers of Diana’s childhood home — the Brewster projects — are getting the wrecking ball.  The Windsor Star mentions Diana and the Supremes in its article, stating:  “Opened in 1938, the Brewster projects were the first federally-funded African American public housing development in the U.S. Famous former residents include Diana Ross, Mary Wilson and Florence Ballard of the Supremes, actress Lily Tomlin and boxer Joe Louis.”

The pictures of the projects now show them in a state of total dilapidation, a far cry from the place Miss Ross wrote about in her book Secrets Of A Sparrow:  “In the Brewster projects, on those hot and sultry Detroit nights, everybody gathered at the corner or sat on the three little steps in the doorways of their apartments.”  It was there, of course, that she met Mary and Florence; the rest is music history.

It sounds like it’s time for something new to take the place of the Brewster-Douglass towers; the Windsor Star calls them “some of Detroit’s most visible and notorious blight.”  But boy, what a history.  Had there been no Brewster projects, Diana Ross would probably never have met Mary and Flo (who went to a different school).  Who knows if she would have ended up at Motown without them?

Really, without that Detroit housing project, all of our lives would have been very different.  So, for that (to steal a line from Miss Diana Ross herself…), “Thank you…for the best years of my life.”

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections Of… (The End Of An Era)

  1. Greg says:

    I am so happy Diana and Mary and Florence met. Thanks be to those Detroit housing projects. I dream of Diana,Mary and Cindy doing a Supremes reunion….I for one would throw handfuls of money to them to reunite and do a tour.
    I can dream…can’t I?

  2. Damecia says:

    Very nice review Paul

  3. Nice transition into the Supremes-era segment of the site!

  4. James T. Grattan says:

    *It’s been said that if you produce one good book in your life-time, you will have contributed something of value.*

    *I’ve been given the opportunity to compile some of my favorite essays into a collection or…dare I say…“A book.”*

    *It seems so long ago that I started this project. So much has happened since then, these essays now seem, somehow… from another place and time. Perhaps it’s time to get started on book #2!*

    *Once Upon A Time…a few years back, in a bistro off of Mallory Square:*

    *Cut to me and my two chums from Romania breaking down the restaurant where we worked here on the island. It was closing time and I was telling one of my tales of my travels, my family, the mighty Diana Ross…or just another chapter from the James Show. Surely they had heard these stories a hundred times before. Radu (like Ragu the Spaghetti Sauce but with a “D”) and Alex (who I am convinced was an international hired assassin.) suggested I start a blog. *

    *I remember thinking, “What’s a blog?”* *Fast forward a year later to The Key West Writer’s Guild with me reading a potential* *blog post. One of the other writers suggested I put my writing into a book.*

    *I remember thinking, “A book? Isn’t that for real writers?”*

    *Across that same room at The Key West Writer’s Guild was a bikini wearin’-bike ridin’ chick with pink hair, named Melissa. Naturally that’s where I landed. A friendship was born. She introduced me to an editor. And the rest, as they say, is history.*

    *It is with tremendous gratitude (and more than a little trepidation) that I share this collection with you…whoever and where-ever you are. I’ve always felt that writing is much more valuable if it is shared. And that the written word is a movable, pliable force…always changing depending on the perspective. *

    *At times writing feels like a tremendous burden. And other times it feels like taking flight. But I am always better from it…and I hope you feel the same after reading my stories. *

    *I encourage you to let me know what you think about this collection. *

    *I wish for you…for me…for all of us…laughter & healing…and a magical place like Key West.*

    *Friend-to-Friend,*

    *James T. Grattan*

    *July 2014* *POST SCRIPT:* * For my dream chasers out there. Often times we are born with a dream. Other times the dream is realized later in life. But either way, this I have learned. The dream may look different then you thought it would. It may come in different packaging or delivered by a different messenger than expected. But it’s still the dream come true. As the saying goes, “Don’t block the blessings.” * http://www.amazon.com/Notes-Aging-Insomniac-Reflections-friendship/dp/1500101788/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1406612219&sr=1-5&keywords=grattan

Leave a Reply

