“…I’m Not Going Anywhere!”

Diana Ross Central Park

Diana Ross spoke those classic words back in 1983, during her historic 2-day concert even in New York’s Central Park.  That full quote — “It took me a lifetime to get here…I’m not going anywhere” has since been resurrected in news clips, books about Diana Ross, and even by the diva herself when accepting a BET Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007.

It seems an apt quote to use here after a lengthy absence from The Diana Ross Project.  After more than a year of weekly posts devoted to the major (and not-so-major) studio releases in the incredible Diana Ross discography, I gave my hands, my brain, and my computer a little rest.  But it’s been INCREDIBLY gratifying to see everybody continue commenting on these posts.  The debate of Diana’s albums will rage on forever — which are the best, which are the most underrated, and what each album tells us about the singer at that time in her life.  I can’t tell you how much better I understand my own lifelong interest in Diana Ross thanks to your comments and differing points-of-view.

Anyway, after a brief remission, Diana fever is raging in my blood again.  I’ve just purchased tickets to see The Boss in concert here in Atlanta on September 7th at the Chastain Park Amphitheatre — yaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!  (Does that convey how I’m feeling?)  This will be my first time seeing her live since back in 2007, when I caught a pair of shows in Florida promoting the I Love You album.  Before that, I was lucky enough to see Diana on the Return To Love tour with The Supremes, and during her Take Me Higher tour back in the 90s.  As most of us know, each and every time seeing Diana in concert is like the first; there’s always an excitement impossible to put into words.

So — the point of all this is that as my own anticipation of this show builds, I’m hoping to start writing about Diana regularly again.  I may have covered her albums and singles already, but there are a lot of live performances, tour extravaganzas, and film and TV appearances to discuss.  So, what do you think?  Shall we ease on down the road a bit more?

About Paul

Album-by-album, track-by-track, a look at the entire Diana Ross discography...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to “…I’m Not Going Anywhere!”

  1. ejluther says:

    Yes, please!

  2. johninpa says:

    Absolutely! I only left one comment throughout all of your reviews, but I anxiously looked forward to each one. Although I may not have always agreed with you, your reviews sometimes gave me a better insight into each album and song. Keep up the good work Paul!

  3. Mikel Patrik says:

    Good to see you here again!

  4. Jeremy Lee says:

    Greetings from Sri Lanka and Australia. You can’t let us down now. I have really appreciated your indepth, insightful and passionate critiques of Miss Ross’ offerings so all strength to you as you ramp up your efforts to provide us with more. Thanks for your commitment to keep the Diana Ross spirit alive!

  5. rodolfo ramirez mauriello says:

    what about the diana supremes work?

  6. Woo Hoo! How I have missed our weekly Miss Ross chats. I always check for an update, so very pleased to have more to look forward to! 🙂

  7. spookyelectric says:

    Glad you’re back! What you’ve done so far on the solo Diana catalogue has been pretty exhaustive and I’ve enjoyed all of it. The only thing I can think of left you might want to consider are the 12″ mixes – maybe by project or era (the Capitol years were pretty productive on that front) otherwise it would take forever! Then there’s all the unreleased tracks / album projects that have been alluded to in the comments sections from time to time (the Wonder sessions, the shelved Wiz solo album, Revelations etc) if you can track down any more info on those. But whatever route you take I’m sure it’ll be great…

  8. Greg says:

    YES!!!
    Please continue.
    Miss Ross is a legend and she should be cherished and appreciated for the artist she is.
    Ain’t No Mountain High Enough!!!!!

  9. pnyc1969 says:

    Glad to hear it, Paul. I am very jealous that I will miss this year’s concert because of vacation plans. I can see you are gearing up to start reviewing the performance piece of Diana’s career. I can’t wait to read about some of my favorite live appearances like the ’79 Boss tour, ’81 LA Forum, Let’s Go Up on the Tonight Show, Motown 25, the infamous Apollo mic toss and Return to Love. Good to have you back…Friend to Friend.

  10. Tony says:

    Yes – absolutely! What ever you choose I am in! I have missed you and your insight!

  11. Mark says:

    Really enjoyed and looked forward to your weekly critique of Ms Ross’ catalogue !
    I think that you should turn your attention to her work in the Film Industry next ? Not just the films themselves but some insight in to those projects that were considered but – for whatever reason – shelved …. ” Bodyguard”, for example ?
    Whatever you focus on next, I look forward to reading all about it ! Keep up the Good Work !

    M

    • Paul says:

      I think I’m gonna go with TV specials & major appearances…then films…then tours, perhaps??? Much to cover…I’m excited!

  12. Eric Duerr says:

    very excited to see this blog coming to life again! it’s definitely my favorite. I have tickets to see her in September and I can’t waaaaaaaaaaaaait! Post away!

  13. Olivier says:

    hello Paul, don’t leave us now 😉
    Don’t you know that we’re reading your words in France?
    So we need your lights for new expanded edition (Baby, it’s me or Diana Ross 1978), Hip-O select planned to release this year!
    Plus, so many UK EMI CD singles bonus tracks have to be analysed.
    On word: GO ON PAUL !
    Thx for all.

  14. Antje says:

    So often did I click your page, but nothing new – so I gave up, feeling sad. Glad that today I gave it another try – Paul, you made my Sunday (and surely will do so in the future). So happy you are back! This could go on forever…
    I am lucky I own copies of all her TV specials. I have to put them in my player right now, I think I’ll start with the Muppet Show. I watched (and recorded) it on German TV. Her voice is beautifully dubbed in the speaking sequences, catching its breathy appeal.

Leave a Reply

